Technology Ireland names eShopWorld as Company of the Year

27 Nov 2017

The eShopWorld team at the annual Technology Ireland Awards at the Mansion House, Dublin with Paul Sweetman, Technology Ireland director. Image: Gary O' Neill

The winners of this year’s Technology Ireland Awards included e-commerce player eShopWorld and a Tyndall Institute Smart Glove for VR.

Technology Ireland, the Ibec group that represents the tech sector, has named e-commerce player eShopWorld as Company of the Year at the annual Technology Ireland Awards.

Following the publishing of the shortlist earlier this month, the company was selected by the judging panel based on its growth over the past few years.

“Established six years ago, eShopWorld now employs 180 people and has a turnover of more than €200m,” said Technology Ireland director Paul Sweetman.

“I wish to congratulate eShopWorld on attaining the prestigious accolade of Technology Ireland Company of the Year. This year, we received an influx of talented, ambitious and worthy nominations.”

Smart Glove success

Other winners on the night included Joe Hogan, co-founder and CTO of Openet, who was named Technology Ireland Person of the Year 2017 because he “founded, built and scaled one of the most successful software technology companies in Ireland that is a global leader”.

The team of Tyndall National Institute researchers behind the Smart Glove – a haptic human computer interface system for virtual reality (VR), augmented reality and robotics – won the Outstanding Academic Achievement of the Year award.

“The Smart Glove is a clear example of how collaboration between experts in both hardware and software can lead to game-changing products being developed by Irish R&D institutes,” said the head of Tyndall’s Wireless Sensor Networks group, Dr Brendan O’Flynn.

“The Smart Glove is a key technology enabler unlocking the ability to create truly immersive VR experiences across a variety of sectors and is really making an impact with some of the largest technology companies.”

The full list of winners on the night included:

Technology Ireland Company of the Year


Technology Ireland Person of the Year

Joe Hogan

Emerging Company of the Year


Outstanding Achievement In International Growth

Aspire Technology

Technology Innovation of the Year


Digital Technology Services Project of the Year

Aspire Technology

Multinational Corporation Initiative of the Year

Ericsson Ireland

Excellence in Talent Development

Storm Technology

Outstanding Academic Achievement of the Year

Smart Glove (Tyndall National Institute)

Colm Gorey was a senior journalist with Silicon Republic