ComReg commissioner to lead EU radio spectrum group

29 Jan 2010

ComReg commissioner Mike Byrne is to become the first Irishman to lead the prestigious Radio Spectrum Policy Group (RSPG) which will guide the European Commission in terms of the opportunities for wireless.

Byrne is a commissioner with ComReg, which regulates Ireland’s €5.5-billion communications sector and has been dedicated to promoting innovation in the sector, particularly in the area of wireless spectrum and next-generation IP-based infrastructure.

“The work the group undertakes looks at use of radio spectrum in telecoms, transport and health,” he told

“Especially how much more efficiently and effectively radio spectrum can be freed up to supply services and technology consumers will need in the years ahead.

During the week, Byrne chaired a working group of Europe’s 27 telecoms regulators in Dublin focused on digital dividend policy.

The RSPG is established under Commission Decision 2002/622/EC to provide policy advice to the European Commission, Parliament and Council. It consults extensively, and in a forward-looking manner on a variety of technological, market and regulatory developments relating to the use of radio spectrum in the context of relevant EU policies, such as electronic communications and the information society, transport, research and development, and health.

Appointed as member of the Commission in 2004, Byrne held the chair of ComReg in 2006/07. He also chair of the RSPG’s Working Group on the ‘Digital Dividend’ since 2008. Prior to joining ComReg, Mike was a director of Vision Consulting, the international technology consulting firm.

Byrne holds a master’s of science (management practice) degree from Trinity College, Dublin, and a bachelor of science degree from University College, Galway. He has also completed post-graduate executive education programmes at University College, Cork and Stanford University, USA.

By John Kennedy

Photo: ComReg commissioner Mike Byrne

John Kennedy is a journalist who served as editor of Silicon Republic for 17 years