New chairman appointed to lead ComReg

29 Jan 2010

Communications Minister Eamon Ryan has appointed commissioner Alex Chisholm as the new chairman of the Commission for Communications Regulation (ComReg).

Chisholm will succeed John Doherty, who has held the position of chairperson for the last two years. Doherty, while continuing in his role as ComReg commissioner, has recently taken up the position as chairperson of the Body European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC).

The minister paid tribute to Doherty. “I would like to take this opportunity to thank John for the considerable contribution he has made in the past two years as chairperson of ComReg and I wish him every success in his role as chairperson of the BEREC. John will bring his extensive experience and commitment to this new challenge.”

On the new industry landscape that Chisholm will regulate, Ryan said: “High-speed broadband is critical for the smart economy, which is the foundation for the Government’s economic recovery plan.

“ComReg’s role in creating the necessary regulatory conditions to facilitate investment and ensure healthy competition in the telecoms and broadband markets is all the more important now and I have every confidence that Chisholm has the qualities to fulfil this role at what is a particularly challenging time for the industry. I wish him well.”

Ryan also paid tribute to commissioner Mike Byrne on his appointment as vice chairperson of the Radio Spectrum Policy Group (RSPG) with a view to becoming chairperson in November 2010.

“It is a tribute to Ireland that both commissioners Doherty and Byrne have been appointed to such high-level international positions. It is recognition of the high regard in which Ireland is held and is a great personal honour for them both,” Ryan said.

By John Kennedy

John Kennedy is a journalist who served as editor of Silicon Republic for 17 years