Dot ie Net Visionary Awards shortlist announced

18 Aug 2011

The Irish Internet Association (IIA) has announced the shortlist for the 2011 Dot ie Net Visionary Awards, and online voting is now open.

This year sees a record number of entries, along with new categories such as ‘Best Open Data Initiative’, ‘Best Rookie’ and ‘Breakthrough Brick to Click’, which the IIA introduced to recognise those “non-techies who have made the brave steps to a business life online”.

“The sheer number of entrants was overwhelming,” said Joan Mulvihill, CEO of the IIA. “Now that the shortlist is announced, the voting is open to the public, a unique feature of the awards. The campaigns run by those shortlisted are fiercely contested but we like how it guarantees the transparency of the process and the integrity of the awards.”

New headline sponsor

IE Domain Registry Limited (IEDR) is the new headline sponsor for the 2011 Dot ie Net Visionary Awards.

“By allowing the public to nominate and vote on the winners, the awards provide a clear picture of best practice in the Irish internet community while also serving to highlight the most popular, useful and notable websites in Ireland,” said Angela Butler, IEDR’s finance and operations manager.

“The IEDR is keen to promote and celebrate these websites which can be used as quality benchmarks for other businesses and individuals to rank and improve their own online offerings.”

The awards, now in their 13th year, will be held on Friday, 30 September, in the National Gallery of Ireland.

Photo: Front row (left to right): Angela Butler, finance and operations manager, IE Domain Registry Limited with Joan Mulvihill, CEO Irish Internet Association. Back row (left to right): John Beck, PillarProjects; Amy Neale, National Digital Research Centre; Lavinia Morris, Friends First; Donal O’Nuallain, IE Domain Registry Limited; Michelle Daly, Paddy Power; and Donal McGuinness, Zapa Technologies, who all make up the Dot ie Net Visionary Awards 2011 judging panel

Karina Corbett

Article courtesy of