SpaceX Falcon 9 and Dragon to head to International Space Station today

1 Mar 20131 Share

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

The Dragon spacecraft stands inside a processing hangar at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida. Photo by NASA/Kim Shiflett

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Conditions are looking favourable for the liftoff today of the SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon spacecraft from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida to resupply the International Space Station.

The weather forecast has been looking good for liftoff at 10.10am EST (3.10pm GMT), with a slight possibility of thick clouds and winds at launch time, US space agency NASA said.

The mission is the second of 12 SpaceX flights contracted by NASA to resupply the International Space Station and the third trip by a Dragon capsule to the orbiting laboratory.

Coverage of today’s launch can be watched on NASA TV beginning at 8.30am EST (1.30pm GMT) and on the NASA blog.

66

DAYS

4

HOURS

26

MINUTES

Buy your tickets now!

Tina held senior editorial positions at daily newspapers in Ottawa and Toronto

editorial@siliconrepublic.com