Finalists announced for Bord Gáis Energy Social Media Awards 2012

2 May 2012

The second annual Bord Gáis Energy Social Media Awards will take place in Dublin’s Mansion House on 17 May, 2012 and the nominees can start preparing their glad rags as the shortlist has been announced today.

Competition was tough, with the organisers saying they received double last year’s amount of entries. “The selection process was difficult this year as the quality of entries was so high. Some categories were judged over 18 times to ensure that companies at different levels and with different budgets had an equal chance of reaching the final,” said Damien Mulley, founder of the awards.

The awards aim to recognise best practice in online interaction and innovation in social media, and the list of nominees is a varied mix of household names and homegrown heroes. “It’s great to see such well known and respected brands reaching the final alongside smaller companies and organisations who are working hard to market themselves online,” said Mulley.

Finalists across some of the key categories are as follows:

Facebook Page for a Business (non-campaign)

Facebook Page for a Business (owner-managed)

Facebook Page for Non-Profit/Organisation

Video/Video Campaign (non-broadcast)

Blog of a Business

Best Business Twitter Account (marketing/sales)

Best Business Twitter account (support, CRM)

Best Business Twitter Campaign

Best Use of Social Media in an Election

  • John Paul Phelan – General election campaign
  • Seán Gallagher – Presidential campaign
  • Michael D Higgins – Presidential campaign
  • Irish Labour Party – General election campaign

Best Use of Social Media for a Sponsorship Campaign

  • Electric Ireland and Electric Picnic
  • SPAR SPARTAN Challenge
  • Kaspersky Lab and Felicity Aston
  • Meteor and Choice Music Prize
  • O2 Ireland – Irish Rugby
  • Bank of Ireland – Blue Magic Leinster Rugby
  • Aviva and Aviva Stadium
  • Vodafone Ireland – Dublin GAA Hill 16

Innovative Use of Social Media

  • Gaza TV News
  • RTÉ´s #HowToBeIrish project
  • Electric Ireland #sharetheenergy
  • 11890
  • Dine in Dublin – Dine at your Desk campaign
  • Today FM – Shave or Dye
  • Brando Digital – #tweetsweets
  • AllAbout

Agency of the Year

  • WHPR/Ogilvy
  • Simply Zesty
  • Eighty Twenty
  • Creative District
  • Irish International
  • Blue Cube
  • MediaVest
  • Starcom
  • Cybercom
  • Ican

Check out the website for a full list of nominees or to buy tickets for the ceremony, which will be hosted by avid tweeter and 2FM presenter Rick O’Shea.

Elaine Burke is the host of For Tech’s Sake, a co-production from Silicon Republic and The HeadStuff Podcast Network. She was previously the editor of Silicon Republic.