Greene emerges as pick of the pods

17 Nov 2006‘s web developer Brian Greene of Doop Design picked up the Best Podcaster gong at last night’s Net Visionary Awards.

Brian’s prolific array of blogs and podcasts can be accessed at

The awards received 188 nominations and over 20,000 votes and are considered unique in Ireland in that they are nominated and voted upon by members of the public.

“The nominees and winners of the Irish Internet Association’s Net Visionary Awards are testament to the creativity and calibre of those involved in the industry today,” said Stephen Doyle, business development manager of CheetahMail, who sponsored last night’s awards.

Sean O’Dowd of picked up the awards for Social Contribution.

Freelance journalist John Collins picked up the Technology Journalist Award.

Peter Dee of Dublin City Council won the eGovernment category.

Declan O’Donnell of picked up the Web Designer award and his colleague Eimear Fogarty won the Web Developer award.

John Breslin of and won the Online Trader Award.

There were two joint winners of the Education Contribution Category; Matt Glowatz of University College Dublin and Gerry McGovern of

Richard Moyles of Furntech Ltd emerged as the winner of the Internet Entrepreneur award.

Aisling McCabe of RTE Publishing picked up the award for Mobile Internet Application.

The award for Best Online Banking Service went to Gavin Ross of Bank of Scotland (Ireland).

Popular blogger Twenty Major proved he was still trailing a smoky blaze through awards this year, picking up the Net Visionary award for Best Blogger for the second year running.

Overall Net Visionary went to Ray Nolan of Hostelworld, whose company has recorded profits of €12-14m on revenues of €28m.

Colm Lyon of the Irish Internet Association said Nolan was selected as the Overall Net Visionary because he constantly raised the bar in terms of competing in the global internet market. His company, Lyon added, remained highly innovative in its approach and moved quickly to capture opportunities.

By John Kennedy