Minister approves five RTÉ channels for Saorview

23 Feb 2011

Minister for Communications Pat Carey has approved five new RTÉ channels to run on the Saorview free-to-air digital terrestrial television (DTT) network, which launches in May 2011.

“As a result of a thorough examination of the RTÉ proposals, which included a public consultation process on the public value of the proposals and a sectoral impact assessment, I have approved, subject to certain conditions laid down in my decision, the following new RTÉ services: RTÉ Two High Definition (HD) Select; RTÉ Aertel Digital; RTÉjr; RTÉ Plus (Phase 1); and RTÉ News Now,” Carey said.

He also thanked those who had responded to the consultation process for the new RTÉ service proposals, which was launched last November, as well as the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) for its analysis of the sectoral impact on the proposals. 

“The responses received to the public consultation process informed my decision and it was very encouraging to see the level of interest in this statutory process with 29 respondents from the public, representative bodies and from the broadcast industry.”

“These additional five channels will give increased choice to TV viewers throughout Ireland over all platforms, including the national ‘free to air’ Saorview DTT network which is currently being rolled out by RTÉ.”

Article courtesy of