We spoke to winners and university representatives at the Trinity Innovation Awards.

Marking the third annual Trinity Innovation Awards on 5 December in Trinity College Dublin, provost Dr Patrick Prendergast told us that “innovation is part of the core mission of the university”.

We also spoke to Societal Impact Award winner Dr Joan Cahill, Ones-2-Watch Award winner Dr David McCloskey, Industry Engagement Award winners Prof Michael Morris and Dr Lorraine Byrne, Lifetime Achievement Award winner Prof J Michael D Coey and Provost’s Innovation Award winner Sean Mitchell about their thoughts on innovation and the recipe for success.

The night also saw campus company founders Dr Tony Robinson and David van Zuydam recognised for their university spin-outs – Nexalus and Head Diagnostics, respectively.

Diarmuid O’Brien, chief innovation and enterprise officer at Trinity, noted: “Most people would say innovation is a contact sport. You need to be able to bring together people with different perspectives, different viewpoints.”


Words by Elaine Burke