Citrix announces advanced virtualisation certifications

28 Jul 2010

Citrix Systems has announced the availability of advanced certifications for engineers and architects specialising in the company’s end-to-end virtualisation solutions.

The new certifications are the Citrix Certified Enterprise Engineer (CCEE) for Virtualisation and Citrix Certified Integration Architect (CCIA) for Virtualisation.

According to Citrix, the programmes around these certifications are designed to help IT professionals develop and prove the real-world skills required to deliver end-to-end virtual computing, from the data centre to the desktop.

Virtualisation skills are currently in high demand, with the trend towards green computing and a need for greater efficiencies driving many organisations to direct their IT budgets to the deployment of virtual servers and desktops.

Benefits of certification

“Professional certifications play an important role in career advancement and salary increases, and help open the door for those seeking employment in today’s market, where job seekers must find ways to differentiate themselves,” said Julieann Scalisi, managing director of Citrix Education.

“The new CCEE and CCIA certifications specifically reflect the unique job skills and roles required in modern IT environments. They also acknowledge and reflect the skills of current Citrix certification holders, providing a clear update path and the ability to keep up with advances in the most cutting-edge virtualisation technologies.”

CCEE certification

The CCEE certification is designed to certify breadth of knowledge across Citrix virtualisation solutions, focusing on the ability to combine operational planning skills with tactical design expertise and integration know-how.

Candidates begin working towards the CCEE by first passing several product-specific exams for Citrix XenDesktop, XenApp and XenServer. The final requirement of the CCEE exam, A15 Engineering a Citrix Virtualisation Solution, includes complex simulations, enabling students to demonstrate their knowledge in a performance-based setting.

CCIA certification

The CCIA certification is the highest Citrix designation and focuses on best practices for virtualisation analysis and design. The CCIA certifies the skills required for successful deployments, helping organisations improve implementations through lower costs, increased performance and reduced time.

To attain the CCIA, candidates must first achieve the CCEE and then pass the A16 Architecting a Citrix Virtualisation Solution exam.

Currently certified Citrix Certified Enterprise Administrator (CCEA) and CCIA professionals can update to the new certifications by taking the new exams. To update to the CCEE, existing CCEAs need only pass the A15 exam. Existing CCIAs must pass both A15 and A16 exams.

Training courses designed for the CCEE and CCIA are hands-on and available to take with an instructor in the classroom, or online in a self-paced format.

All exams required for the CCEE and CCIA for Virtualisation are available worldwide at Pearson VUE testing centres. For specific CCEE and CCIA for Virtualisation requirements and recommended training, visit Citrix Education.

Loading now, one moment please! Loading