Silicon Republic’s Elaine Burke wins Tech Writer of the Year at The Jams Media Awards

13 Dec 2013

We are proud to announce that our very own Elaine Burke has been voted Tech Writer of the Year in The Jams Journalism & Media Awards 2013.

In the inaugural The Jams Journalism & Media Awards organised by, Elaine fought off stiff competition from seasoned technology writers, including her colleagues Ann O’Dea and John Kennedy, as well as well-known tech journalists Adrian Weckler from The Irish Independent, Ciara O’Brien and Karlin Lillington from The Irish Times, and Marie Boran, formerly of Silicon Republic herself.

Elaine joined as a journalist in May 2011 and her impact has been enormous in terms of solid reporting, an engaging writing style, and attention to detail, as well as for boosting social media engagement.

Her enthusiasm for technology and the impact of the changing digital landscape on our world and our lives are evident in the subjects she covers and the expert way she tackles them.

In fact her eye for detail is so sharp that her moniker Critical Red Pen is well deserved.

The Winners of The Jams Journalism & Media Awards 2013

Fashion Writer Of The Year

Aoife Reilly

Beauty Writer Of The Year

Marissa Carter

Interiors Writer Of The Year

Lisa Sykes

Motoring Writer Of The Year

Geraldine Herbert

Tech Writer Of The Year

Elaine Burke

Travel Writer Of The Year

Jillian Bolger

Food Writer Of The Year

Tom Doorley

Best Online Read

Best Fashion Read


Best Pregnancy & Parenting Read

Best Foodie Read

Easy Food Magazine

Best Interiors Read

House & Home

Best Wedding Read

Irish Brides

Best Regional Read

Dublin People

Best Weekend Read

The Irish Times

Best Weekly Read

Woman’s Way

Best Daily Read

The Irish Times

Supporting Irish Award

Rosemary Mac Cabe

Editor Of The Year

Deanna O’Connor

John Kennedy is a journalist who served as editor of Silicon Republic for 17 years