Where to catch coverage of US presidential election results

6 Nov 20123 Shares

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Today is a big day not just for US President Barack Obama and former governor of Massachusetts Matt Romney, who now leave their campaigns for the presidency in the hands of voters, but for media outlets, as well, who will be providing live coverage of election night. Here’s a look at where election-result watchers can tune in for the results.

But first, a look at what time to start tuning in. Traditionally, the overall result emerges between 3-7am GMT (10pm-2am EST). At 7pm EST (that’s 12am GMT), polls close in six states and the first results begin to be reported. The last of the polls close at 1am EST in Alaska (6am GMT).

In Ireland and the UK, BBC and Sky News has the event covered both on TV and online.

Sky News US election coverage

Sky News will begin its coverage at 10.30pm EST and will go right through until 11pm on Wednesday. To combine coverage on TV and online, Sky News will track the Twitter accounts of 400 key figures across the US, giving presenter Martin Stanford the ability to filter their comments and reveal how different groups are reacting to the election results.
 
This technology will be available on the Sky News for iPad, Sky News for iPhone and at skynews.com, giving viewers access to polling data, the social media feed and the results centre, Sky News said in a statement.

BBC US election coverage

The BBC will be providing comprehensive coverage across TV, radio and online, both in the UK and around the world. Live coverage on BBC One runs from 11.35pm GMT (6.35pm EST) until 6am GMT (1am EST).

BBC World News and the BBC News Channel will be carrying the same election programme, followed by coverage of reaction to the election outcome.

Election-result watchers will also be able to keep up to date with the latest results, analysis and interviews by following BBC on social media.

On radio, tune into BBC World Service and BBC Radio 4 from 12am GMT (7pm EST) tonight.

Other sources covering the US election

If YouTube is more your style, then head on over to the YouTube Elections Hub, which will feature live coverage from a multitude of sources, including ABC News, Al Jazeera, Larry King, The New York Times, BuzzFeed, Phil DeFranco, Univision, and The Wall Street Journal.

Microblogging site Twitter is sure to be abuzz with election night news, and two accounts that may be worth keeping an eye on are those belonging to Obama and Romney themselves. For more general coverage, consider #election2012.

Election results image via Shutterstock

Tina held senior editorial positions at daily newspapers in Ottawa and Toronto

editorial@siliconrepublic.com