World of Warcraft : Cataclysm on sale today

7 Dec 2010

The long-awaited World of Warcraft (WoW) expansion – Cataclysm – is now available.

The third expansion of the set of the hugely popular multi-player online role playing game (MMORPG) follows the previous expansion Wrath of the Lich King, and will set about recreating some of the classic features that gamers have come to love.

These changes will include an environmental redesign of the Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor, as well as a new set of rules during gameplay.

New quests and playable races

All previous quests have been retired and replaced with new missions that will incorporate the updated gameplay and mechanics that have been changed or redesigned.

The Cataclysm expansion sees many familiar areas in WoW ripped up and re-made.

Among the new features are:

  • Level caps raised from 80 to 85
  • New towns and around 3,500 new quests
  • Redesigned low and mid-level quests
  • New dungeons, raids and battlegrounds
  • New skills, zones and playable races (Goblins and Worgen)

WoW is one of the most lucrative MMORPGs in the gaming industry. It is available in eight languages and is played in North America, Europe, mainland China, Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Chile, Argentina, and the regions of Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau, with an estimated 12 million subscribers as of October 2010.