SFI reveals 38 researchers to receive crucial €4.5m commercialisation funding

7 Feb 2019

Dr Creina Slator of DCU is one of the SFI TIDA recipients. Image: SFI

As part of its TIDA programme, SFI has revealed that 38 research positions will be supported under its new €4.5m funding.

In its 10th year, the Science Foundation Ireland’s (SFI) Technology Innovation Development Award (TIDA) programme has welcomed its latest researchers with funding worth €4.5m across 38 different research projects. Its purpose is to provide the capital and training in entrepreneurship skills to researchers who are looking at commercialising their life’s work.

Under the latest round, the largest single recipient of funding was Dr Eimear Dolan of NUI Galway who is receiving €129,995 for her ImmunoCell project. This aims to create an implantable cell reservoir device for the replenishable delivery of natural killer cells for ovarian cancer treatment.

Other project recipients include Trinity College Dublin’s (TCD) Stephen Dooley, who is attempting to create petrol and diesel from household and plant waste, as well as Dr Niall Barron of the National Institute for Bioprocessing Research and Training (NIBRT), who is attempting to find a cheaper, more productive alternative in the creation of Chinese hamster cells (CHO).

The full list of funding recipients can be found below.

Dr Robert Sheehan (CIT)


Dr Aisling Byrne (DCU)


Prof Martin Clynes (DCU)


Dr Creina Slator (DCU)


Prof Brendan Duffy (TU Dublin)


Dr Niall Barron (NIBRT)


Prof Michael Butler (NIBRT)


Dr Adrienne Gorman (NUIG)


Dr Eimear Dolan (NUIG)


Dr Haroon Zafar (NUIG)


Prof Mark Johnson (NUIG)


Prof Michael Madden (NUIG)


Dr Bryan Hennelly (Maynooth University)


Dr Roger Preston (RCSI)


Dr Olga Piskareva (RCSI)


Prof Sally-Ann Cryan (RCSI)


Prof Yurii Gun’ko (TCD)


Dr Stephen Maher (TCD)


Dr James Phelan (TCD)


Dr Rocco Lupoi (TCD)


Dr Sarah Doyle (TCD)


Prof Ed Lavelle (TCD)


Prof Jacintha O’Sullivan (TCD)


Dr Matthew Campbell (TCD)


Prof Michael Morris (TCD)


Prof Peter Humphries (TCD)


Dr Stephen Dooley (TCD)


Prof Peter Parbrook (Tyndall National Institute)


Dr Gerard McGlacken (UCC)


Prof Thomas Walther (UCC)


Dr John Morrissey (UCC)


Dr John O’Toole (UCC)


Dr Gabriella Farries (UCD)


Dr Fiona McGillicuddy (UCD)


Dr Crystal O’Connor (UCD)


Dr James Rice (UCD)


Dr Akeem Olaleye (UL)


Dr Sinead O’Keeffe (UL)


Colm Gorey was a senior journalist with Silicon Republic