Irish students can have eyes on Adobe’s design prize

25 Nov 2004

Irish students are now eligible to enter an international design competition covering graphic design, photography, illustration, animation, digital filmmaking and computer-generated art.

For the first time, the fifth annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards are open to students from Ireland, as well as Australia, Austria, France, Germany, New Zealand and Switzerland. They will compete against entrants from the US, Canada and the UK.

There are nine competition categories in all, covering a range of design-related disciplines: environmental graphics, digital illustration, digital photography/imaging, interactive design, print design, self-expression and time-based media. Two new categories have been added to the upcoming round of submissions: animation and broadcast design.

Students can submit projects made using Adobe’s design platforms, such as Creative Suite or Video Collection software. These will be judged by an independent panel of six judges, including such industry figures as Matthew Richmond from Chopping Block; Gail Anderson from Spot Design; Kathy Fredrickson from Studio Blue; Dean Velez from Gannett Production Services; Dava Guthmiller from Noise 13; and Frank Gladstone from Dreamworks SKG. The judges will select winners in each of the categories based on overall impact, design execution and technical capabilities.

The chosen finalists will receive a trip to New York to participate in the awards event, which includes an opportunity to showcase their work. Winners also will meet with leading-industry professionals during studio tours and the ceremony. First place entries will receive US$5,000 and a selection of Adobe products. Competition details can be found at:

Entries can be submitted after 14 March, 2005 and the closing date is 29 April, 2005. The competition will be judged in May, with the finalists contacted shortly thereafter. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 21 July at New York’s Guggenheim Museum – itself famous for its innovative design.

By Gordon Smith