Finally! LinkedIn rolls out member blocking feature

22 Feb 2014

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

After listening to its users and deciding it was the right thing to do, professionals’ social network LinkedIn has begun rolling out a new Member Blocking feature.

Users will now be able to block or report other users they don’t want contact with.

Once blocked by a LinkedIn member, neither the user or the other party will be able to see one another’s posts or profile. Nor will they be able to message each other.

“While on the surface this may seem like a simple feature to develop, it was not,” wrote Paul Rockwell, head of Trust & Safety at LinkedIn in the social network’s blog.

“There were many different use cases to consider, products and features to integrate, as well as a user interface we had to create.”

Rockwell urged users to be aware that in addition to Member Blocking there are other methods to consider, including simply disconnecting from another member, customising your public profile to decide what search engines can discover or who sees what, managing your activity broadcasts anddeciding whether to make your photo visible.

“Before you decide to block another member, we recommend you enable anonymous profile viewing,” Rockwell added.

The move comes just days after the social network opened its valuable influencer posts capability, previously reserved for elites like Richard Branson, to all LinkedIn members and months after it revealed ambitions to entice a new teenage audience.

LinkedIn homepage image via Shutterstock

Editor John Kennedy is an award-winning technology journalist.

editorial@siliconrepublic.com