Xbox One release delayed in eight European countries

15 Aug 2013

Certain Xbox fans will have to wait until next year to get their hands on Microsoft’s next-generation console as the release has been pushed back in eight countries.

Originally, the Xbox One was set to launch in 21 countries in November this year, including Belgium, Denmark, Finland, the Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden and Switzerland. However, these countries have now been stricken off the list and the Xbox One won’t reach their shores until 2014.

Microsoft has blamed the delay on work to be done to localise the console and incorporate additional languages, as well as building partnerships to bring apps to each of these regions.

“We understand this will be disappointing news for our fans in the impacted countries, and we are doing everything we can to bring Xbox One to you as soon as possible next year,” the Xbox Leadership Team stated in a blog post.

In an effort to appease fans who will have to wait that bit longer, Microsoft has promised a free game for each customer that has pre-ordered the Xbox One Day One system in one of these countries.

Irish gamers will get the console in November as planned, along with Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Spain, the UK, the US and New Zealand.

Elaine Burke is the host of For Tech’s Sake, a co-production from Silicon Republic and The HeadStuff Podcast Network. She was previously the editor of Silicon Republic.